Laptop Thoughts: News & Reviews on Laptops, Netbooks, Slates, and More.

Be sure to register in our forums and post your comments - we want to hear from you!


Android Thoughts

Loading feed...

Windows Phone Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...





All posts tagged "reviews"


Friday, October 1, 2010

Why Yes, That Is An Third Generation Alienware M17x I Have In My Pocket!

Posted by Hooch Tan in "Laptop Thoughts News" @ 12:30 PM

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...sfire,2744.html

"The second incarnation of Alienware’s M17x is creating lots of excitement amongst mobile gaming enthusiasts, but does it really beat a field of premium models? We put it up against solutions from Eurocom and AVADirect to find out what CrossFire can do."

While the integrated graphics market is heating up with the upcoming release of Sandy Bridge, they do not hold a candle, or even a burnt out match against the giants that house not one, but two video cards. These babies are the peak of mobile gaming, able to run the most demanding of games with the highest settings. Coupled with a Core i7-920XM CPU, there is probably very little that the Alienware M17x cannot do. Of course, something this powerful comes at a very powerful price, and you probably will not see many of them around even at LAN parties. That is, if LAN parties still exist. I have not been to one myself for years. Anyone still hip on the local gaming scene, or has voice chat devastted the market?


Monday, September 27, 2010

Coffee, A Bagel and Entelligence

Posted by Michael Knutson in "Laptop Thoughts Talk" @ 10:30 PM

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/26/...blet-wars-have/

"Entelligence is a column by technology strategist and author Michael Gartenberg, a man whose desire for a delicious cup of coffee and a quality New York bagel is dwarfed only by his passion for tech. In these articles, he'll explore where our industry is and where it's going -- on both micro and macro levels -- with the unique wit and insight only he can provide."

Another technology pundit with a sense of humor, Michael Gartenberg writes about some of the technical issues of today. This article is about tablets, present and future, and he offers some interesting insights on the state of the industry today.


Wednesday, September 1, 2010

August 2010 Top Laptops

Posted by Michael Knutson in "Other Laptops & Netbooks" @ 10:30 PM

http://blog.laptopmag.com/top-laptops-of-august-2010

"This month we reviewed 17 notebooks and netbooks, including the newest edition to HP's Envy line, the second generation VAIO P from Sony, and Lenovo's first foray into 3D. Six of these systems earned 4 star ratings and two even snagged the coveted Editor's Choice."

Laptop reviewed 17 notebooks and netbooks in August 2010, and six (6) of them earned four-star (out of five) ratings, and two (2) received Editor's Choice awards (the ASUS Eee PC 1215N and the Panasonic Toughbook C1). The Asus 1215N appears to be one of the first netbooks to offer laptop-class performance for under $500. On the other end of the spectrum, the sub-$300 HP Mini 100e gets four-stars in the K-6 Student category, offering decent performance and long battery life. August's review offers some excellent choices, regardless of your needs.


Friday, August 20, 2010

The Manliest Man Bag of Them All: The LAPG Tactical Bail Out Gear Bag

Posted by Chris Gohlke in "Digital Home Hardware & Accessories" @ 07:00 AM

A lot of us gadget lovers also have a dirty little secret; we tend to have a bag fetish of some sort. I usually buy a bag or two a year, always looking for the “perfect” bag to carry all my toys and other gear. There are companies out there catering to this need and some decent choices out there, but it is often difficult to find that perfect bag that has pockets, is able to be configured, is priced right, and maintains some manly looks. So, I’m going to let you in on my little secret: I’ve stopped looking at bags designed for technology and started looking at bags designed for police and military applications. And there a whole new world of awesomeness opened up to me. Today I’d like to introduce you to the LAPG Tactical Bail Out Gear Bag.

Read more...


Thursday, August 12, 2010

Laptop Mag Checks Out Some Laptop Docks

Posted by Hooch Tan in "Laptop Thoughts News" @ 02:00 PM

http://www.laptopmag.com/review/acc...g-stations.aspx

"Maybe it's time you purchased a notebook dock. These accessories can double your system's available USB connections, and many even come with DVI or VGA ports for connecting to an external display. There are even affordable wireless docks, which make linking your laptop to various peripherals as simple as plugging in a USB dongle."

Docking stations used to be expensive add-ons to your laptop, and were usually made to only fit a particular laptop or line of laptops. With USB 2.0, manufacturers started experimenting with more generic docking stations. While the current generation does not provide all-in-one-docking (as in, "also providing AC power") they do add a lot of functionality and are a great time saver if you find yourself constantly in and out of your office. Most offer a decent range of extra ports such as extra USB ports (for your printer, scanner, card reader, desktop keyboard and mouse), Ethernet and audio ports, with some also offering a video port! My choice? The Kensington model looks good, but only with the extra laptop stand. The combination of both looks like a pretty comfortable setup when one is stuck in the office. What is your pick, or do you have something completely different?


Thursday, July 22, 2010

We Want You: Thoughts Media Review Team Seeking Contributors

Posted by Jason Dunn in "Thoughts Media Status Updates" @ 03:04 PM

http://www.thoughtsmedia.com/reviewteam.php

Do you enjoy using new hardware, software and accessories, then sharing your experience with others? Then join us on the Thoughts Media Review team! We're looking for individuals who find it fun to test hardware, software, and accessories then give their honest opinions about them.

Our areas of focus include laptops, netbooks, slates, tablets, Windows Phones, the Microsoft Zune, Android phones, the iPhone, iMacs, Macbooks, iPad, and other digital devices such as digital cameras, video cameras, photo editing software, printers, scanners, video editing software...and pretty much anything else related to creating, editing, and sharing anything digital. Oh, and don't forget about headphones and nearly any other gizmo out there from portable batteries to memory cards to power bars. We focus on the Windows and OSX platforms, along with Windows Phone, iOS, and Android for mobile platforms.

If it's technology-related, odds are good that it can be covered on one of our sites - and that means you can write about it. It's important to understand that you won't be writing for a single site - you can review any product you want as long as it fits into one of the areas of focus that our network covers.

We're looking for people with a solid grasp of the English language, but you don't have to be the next John Grisham to qualify. Impressive writing skills are less important than having an appetite for thoroughly testing technology and sharing your thoughts with others. Part of the review team application process is writing a trial article, and we'll get a good feel for your writing ability from that.

Interested? We have more information on this page, including a FAQ that's worth looking at. I'm looking to add at least a dozen new faces to the review team, so if you're interested, please apply! I'm also happy to answer any questions you might have that aren't covered in the FAQ, so please post them here and I'll respond.


Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Viliv N5 Reviewed

Posted by Chris Gohlke in "Other Laptops & Netbooks" @ 06:30 AM

http://www.pocketables.net/2010/06/...w-viliv-n5.html

"It goes without saying, then, that I really enjoy using the Viliv N5. It's a device I reach for often and use for long stretches of time because it's so comfortable and reliable. I haven't experienced a crash, hiccup, or even a single moment of frustration and would easily give it 4.5 out of 5 stars (too bad I don't use a rating system). Bottom line: If you're looking for the best truly portable Windows PC on the market, then this is it."

Windows 7 on a 4.8" screen? I'll give it a try, but ouch! There is so much extra space available for a bigger screen, I guess they are trying to conserve the battery. Otherwise, I'd really, really like a device this size that could run Windows 7, even for just basic apps. It would make a very nice travel companion!


Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Blu-Ray 3D on Your Laptop with PowerDVD 10?

Posted by Don Tolson in "Digital Home Software" @ 08:00 AM

Product Category: Video/Audio Player
Manufacturer: CyberLink
Where to Buy: Amazon [affiliate]
Price: Starts at $49.95USD for the Standard version. Ultra version tested is $99.95USD.
System Requirements: Windows XP SP3/Vista/Win7 -- Intel Pentium 4 3.0Ghz+ or AMD Athlon 64 2800+ 1.8Ghz+; 512meg RAM, DirectX 9.0. For Blu-Ray: WinXP SP3/Vista/Win 7 -- Intel Pentium 4, CoreDuo or Core2Quad or Athlon 64 4400+, 1Gig RAM; blu-ray compatible drive. Full system requirements can be found on the CyberLink website.
Specifications: Video: Blu-Ray, AVCHD, AVCREC, MPEG-4, MPEG-2, SMPTE, VC-1, WMV-HD, RM/RMVB, MKV, FLV, HDMI3.1. Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1/7.1/HD, DTS/HD/96/24, HDMI3.1, AAC. A full description of supported formats is available here.

Pros:

  • Wide variety of video and audio formats supported;
  • Blu-Ray and 3D emulation (needs compatible screen) with Blu-Ray 3D native support coming soon;
  • Includes TrueTheatre video 'noise' filters and stabilizer.

Cons:

  • Music interface is lacking in 'modern' features (album art, playlists, etc.);
  • May overload some systems;
  • Overloaded with 'social networking' interfaces.

Summary:

PowerDVD by CyberLink has been the DVD player of choice for OEMs for a number of years, providing a simple way to view movies on home PCs and laptops. With version 10, CyberLink extends the capabilities of the software to the point where a well-equipped media PC can compete with dedicated home theatre equipment. With Blu-Ray (TM), Dolby (TM) 7.1 and remote support, all you really need is a big screen monitor and you'd be all set. Let's take a look and see if you really need that dedicated Blu-Ray player.

Read more...


Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Sponsored links